5 of Swords and 4 of Pentacles

Fear is irrational in nature and does not necessarily reflect the real situation,
but rather touches our most instinctive worries.

The Lord of Defeat is the 5 of Knives (Swords) and symbolizes vanquishing phantoms, irrational fears, and nightmares. There is truth in the saying by Nietzsche: “That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” Whether your demons are concrete or illusionary (such as “fear porn” – or my favorite “doom porn”) slay them where they stand.

Key concepts for the 4 of Skulls (Pentacles): Defensive strength, power and manifestation, standing steadfast and not giving an inch, holding on to what you have and not letting go. This can relate to material possessions, inner/external energies that do not support our true values, or our belief system. Although it’s important to remain open to other points of view and not rigidly adhere to one way of thinking, also realize it’s not your purpose in life to change someone else’s way of thinking or being. Another aspect of the 4 of Pentacles is knowing when it’s in your best interest to let go…of giving up the need TO control (which is really about FEAR) and trusting that the Universe always has your back.

Another person will change when they are damn good and ready.
And not a moment before.

Moonwater Silverclaw

ℳ –

[1] Daniels, Ian (2010). Phantasmagoria. Llewellyn Publications. p. 240.


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s