Vampyres, Witches, and Queen B’s Oh My::Carroll Borland

None of these fascinating women should be called “Scream Queens”. (You won’t find Fay Wray here.) Each captured my imagination in one way or another, even at a young age. Perhaps they only starred in ONE horror movie yet that role would linger in my memory long after I’d seen the film. Some I EQUATED with a particular movie. The one thing they all have in common? They’re all bewitchingly beautiful.


Carroll Borland

Like Margaret Sheridan, Carroll Borland is best known for one film: Mark of the Vampire (1935) Ms. Borland also published a novel, Countess Dracula one month after her death in 1994. (She was also a native of the Bay Area.)

Carroll’s role as Bela Lugosi’s vampire daughter, Luna, played a great influence on her being one of my childhood Archetypes. Sure, she had the stereotypical waist-length cascade of dark hair parted down the middle and heavily made-up eyes, but the odd shape of her blood-red lips (At least, I imaged them as blood-red because the movie was shot in black-and-white.) really set her vampiric character apart from the rest. Now that I think about this, it was the way the whole look was put together that made Luna different. This look was what I tried to emulate as a youngster when I dressed-up as a vampire for Halloween – which was just about every Halloween.

 

@ Wikipedia

ℳ –

Comment...