I Woke Up Screaming this Morning

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I am NOT that woman!!!

Two things came to mind:

  1. An article on Apartment Therapy discussed purchasing things just because they’re on sale and NOT because you need (or even want) them. One example the author cited was asking herself if she needed another black dress. The answer? “No” But what rattled me is WHY she answered “No”. Was it because she had too many black dresses? (That’s like saying one has too many black leather jackets.) NO – it was because she’d been spending the bulk of her time “in the same pair of sweats”. OMG (That’s the BEST reason to buy another black dress – and wear it! Often!)
  2. This one has been plaguing me for several weeks. Compliments I’ve received on the stupid mask I’m forced to wear when I go shopping. It’s leopard print, but that’s beside the point. I hate having to wear one. I can’t breathe properly in it (I never wear it when I’m Power Walking.) and my face gets hot. I hate it and don’t want to be complimented on it. It’s not part of my style. That THING is not who I am.

‘Kayso, “What’s the answer?” I asked myself. “Rock Vixen!” Of course! In the midst of 2-1/2 years of mind-numbing, soul-stealing life (aka Hootersville), then dealing with this lockdown crap, I had forgotten all about WHO THE FUCK I AM.

My hair is one feature I have kept on top of. More power to the ladies who have let their roots grow-out during lockdown, but I just simply cannot do that. Fortunately, it’s an easy one-step process coloring my hair at home – been doing it for decades – dyeing it an intense, shiny, blue black. I had a helluva time earlier this year when I could not find Preference Blue Black #1 (My color of choice and the one I’ve been using FOREVER.) anywhere – not even online. After consulting with my stylist who assured me I would get similar results, I turned to Preference Color #2.1 Onyx Sheen Blue Black (with Blue Base) It’s not bad, but gives off some purplish highlights when the light hits just so. I stocked-up on a case of it. I didn’t want to run out and have to use something like “Natural Black” – a very dull black tone. But I’m keeping my eyes peeled for my beloved Blue Black #1 to come back in stock.

Speaking of my stylist, thank goodness Isaac, Diva’s Salon & Spa, has been “open for business” because he’s the only one I trust to keep my 80’s hair-metal hair ROCKING OUT. (It’s the one thing I’m delighted to receive compliments on – and I get a lot of em! Thank you, Isaac.)

Where was I? Oh, yeah. Bringing my alter-ego back to life. So the hair’s still bitchin’, but what about the rest? I don’t lay around the house in torn sweats or stained tees. Yuck. I may do casual but I don’t do sloppy. Things still have to match, one way or another, and I’ve resumed my habit of changing into sleepwear instead of just climbing into bed with whatever clothes I had on (like I did back in Hootersville). So I’m not a total SCHLUB. But I felt liked I need to kick things up a notch.

So after I had my morning coffee I logged on to AmazonSmile (You DO use AmazonSmile, right?) and found some killer leopard-print boots and an über-cute pair of paperbag-waist pants (Black of course.) ON SALE – both of which I immediately ordered.

The boots will go with all my nice jeans/pants, so I plan on them being a wardrobe staple. The pants may be a little lightweight for winter, but I will get plenty of use out of them come Spring. They also look comfy enough to wear around the house. Hmm, comfy AND stylish. What a concept, huh? (Now all I need is a plain black face mask. Fuck.)

I’m not stopping there, either. I have plenty more rock-worthy apparel in my shopping lists on AmazonSmile (You DO use AmazonSmile, right?) waiting to be moved into the checkout cart!

More Killer Boots
Glamour – Rock Vixen style

ℳ –

Comment...