Take Me Back::1990 ~ Part 1

This journey back in time began with a photo I found circa 1990.

Then I started looking through all my old copies of The Informant, McFazer, and Face It! and quickly realized I’d have to make this a multi-part retrospective. Note: Many of the images herein came directly from these local ‘zines.

Although I had been frequenting a local club, Puma’s, my grrlfriends and I began prowling other venues – most notably The Cactus Club (San Jose), Cabaret (San Jose), and Niles Station (Fremont) – Fridays and Saturdays. Sometimes I’d show-up at The Cactus Club during the week if there was someone special playing there, and once in a while a visit to The Keystone in Palo Alto or The Stone in SF was required.

Although many well-known acts would play at these clubs, our allegiances quickly switched to local talent where we became quick fans of many Bay Area bands. Heck, I can remember some nights we’d go see bands who were playing at different clubs on the same night! Fun times.

All images remain the property of their original owners. All rights reserved.

 

Cactus Club (San Jose)
The Keystone’s Heavy Metal History
The Stone
The Keystone Palo Alto

ℳ –

One response to “Take Me Back::1990 ~ Part 1

  1. Thanx for compiling this blast from the past!  What an excellent era to be young and experience this great Bay Area music scene. Heavy metal + spandex + stilettos + hairspray = most fun times of my life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comment...